Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Submicroscopic genomic alterations in Silver-Russell syndrome and Silver-Russell-like patients
  1. Sara Bruce (sara.bruce{at}ki.se)
  1. Karolinska Institutet, Sweden
    1. Katariina Hannula-Jouppi (katariina.hannula{at}helsinki.fi)
    1. University of Helsinki, Finland
      1. Mari Puoskari (maripuoskari{at}hotmail.com)
      1. University of Helsinki, Finland
        1. Ingegerd Fransson (ingegerd.fransson{at}ki.se)
        1. Karolinska Institutet, Sweden
          1. Kalle OJ Simola (kalle.simola{at}pshp.fi)
          1. Tampere University Hospital, Finland
            1. Marita Lipsanen-Nyman (marita.lipsanen{at}hus.fi)
            1. The Hospital for Children and Adolescents, University of Helsinki, Finland
              1. Juha Kere (juha.kere{at}biosci.ki.se)
              1. Karolinska Institutet, Sweden

                Abstract

                Background: Silver-Russell syndrome (SRS, OMIM# 180860) features fetal and postnatal growth restriction and variable dysmorphisms. Genetic and epigenetic aberrations on chromosomes 7 and 11 are commonly found in SRS. However, a large fraction of SRS remain with unknown genetic etiology.

                Methods: We studied 22 patients diagnosed with SRS (ten with H19 hypomethylation and twelve of unknown molecular etiology) and their parents with the Affymetrix 250K Sty microarray. Several analytical approaches were used to identify genomic aberrations such as copy number changes (CNCs), loss of heterozygosity (LOH), and uniparental disomy (UPD). Selected CNCs were verified with quantitative real-time PCR.

                Results: The largest unambiguous CNCs were found in previously molecularly unexplained SRS patients with relatively mild phenotypes: a heterozygous deletion of chromosome 15q26.3 including the IGF1R gene (2.6 Mb), an atypical, distal 22q11.2 deletion (1.1 Mb), and a pseudoautosomal region duplication (2.7 Mb) in a male patient. We also identified LOH regions of potential relevance to the SRS phenotype. Importantly, we did not identify any duplications or UPD of chromosomes 7 or 11.

                Conclusion: In summary, we found unexpected submicroscopic genomic events with pathogenic potential in three molecularly unexplained patients with mild SRS. Our findings emphasize that SRS is heterogeneous in genetic etiology beyond the major groups of H19 hypomethylation and matUPD7 and that unbiased genome-scale screens may reveal novel genotype-phenotype correlations.

                Statistics from Altmetric.com

                Request permissions

                If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.