Article Text

other Versions

PDF
The very low penetrance of cystic fibrosis for the R117H mutation: a reappraisal for genetic counseling and newborn screening
  1. Christel Thauvin-Robinet (christel.thauvin{at}chu-dijon.fr)
  1. Centre de Génétique, France
    1. Anne Munck (anne.munck{at}rdb.aphp.fr)
    1. CRCM - Service de gastro-entérologie pédiatrique, Hôpital Robert Debré, APHP, Paris, 75935, France
      1. Frédéric Huet (frederic.huet{at}chu-dijon.fr)
      1. CRCM – Service de Pédiatrie 1, Hôpital d’Enfants, CHU Dijon, Dijon, 21079, France
        1. Emmanuelle Génin (emmanuelle.genin{at}inserm.fr)
        1. Inserm U794 et Fondation Jean Dausset / CEPH, 27 rue Juliette Dodu, Paris, 75010, France
          1. Gil Bellis (bellis{at}ined.fr)
          1. INED, 133 boulevard Davout, Paris, 75980, France
            1. Elodie Gautier (elodie.gautier{at}u-bourgogne.fr)
            1. Unité INSERM U866 CIE1, Faculté de médecine de Dijon, CHU Dijon, Dijon, 21079, France
              1. Marie-Pierre Audrézet (marie-pierre.audrezet{at}univ-brest.fr)
              1. Laboratoire de Génétique Moléculaire et d'Histocompatibilité, CHU de Brest, Brest, 29609, France
                1. Claude Férec (claude.ferec{at}univ-brest.fr)
                1. Laboratoire de Génétique Moléculaire et d'Histocompatibilité, CHU de Brest, Brest, 29609, France
                  1. Guy Lalau (glalau{at}chru-lille.fr)
                  1. Pôle de Biochimie et Biologie Moléculaire, Centre de Biologie Pathologie, CHU de Lille, Lille, 59037, France
                    1. Marie Georges (marie.desgeorges{at}inserm.fr)
                    1. Laboratoire de Génétique Moléculaire, IURC, CHU de Montpellier, Montpellier, 34093, France
                      1. Mireille Claustres (mireille.claustres{at}montp.inserm.fr)
                      1. Laboratoire de Génétique Moléculaire, IURC, CHU de Montpellier, Montpellier, 34093, France
                        1. Thierry Bienvenu (bienvenu{at}cochin.inserm.fr)
                        1. Laboratoire de Biochimie-Génétique, Hôpital Cochin, APHP, Paris, 75014, France
                          1. Bénédicte Gérard (benedicte.gerard{at}rdb.aphp.fr)
                          1. Laboratoire de Biochimie Génétique, Hôpital Robert Debré, APHP, Paris, 75020, France
                            1. Pierre Boisseau (pierre.boisseau{at}chu-nantes.fr)
                            1. Service de Génétique Médicale, Laboratoire de Génétique Moléculaire, CHU Hôtel Dieu, Nantes, 44093, France
                              1. Faiza Cabet-Bey (faiza.cabet{at}chu-lyon.fr)
                              1. Service d'Endocrinologie Moléculaire, Centre de Biologie et Pathologie Est, CHU Lyon, Bron, 69677, France
                                1. Delphine Feldmann (delphine.feldmann{at}trs.aphp.fr)
                                1. Laboratoire de Biochimie et Biologie Moléculaire, Hôpital Armand Trousseau, APHP, Paris, 75012, France
                                  1. Christine Clavel (cclavel{at}chu-reims.fr)
                                  1. Laboratoire Pol Bouin, UF Biologie Cellulaire, Hôpital de la Maison Blanche, CHU Reims, Reims, 51092, France
                                    1. Eric Bieth (bieth.e{at}chu-toulouse.fr)
                                    1. Service de Génétique Médicale, Hôpital Purpan, CHU de Toulouse, Toulouse, 31059, France
                                      1. Albert Iron (albert.iron{at}chu-bordeaux.fr)
                                      1. Laboratoire de Génétique Moléculaire, Groupe Hospitalier Pellegrin, CHU de Bordeaux, Bordeaux, 33076, France
                                        1. Brigitte Simon-Bouy (bsb{at}labosesep.org)
                                        1. Laboratoire SESEP, Centre hospitalier de Versailles, Le Chesnay, 78150, France
                                          1. Catherine Costa (catherine.costa{at}hmn.aphp.fr)
                                          1. Service de Biochimie-Génétique et Inserm U955 équipe 11, Groupe Henri Mondor, APHP, Créteil, 94010, France
                                            1. Rachel Médina (dpn.hm{at}hotmail.com)
                                            1. Service de Biochimie-Génétique et Inserm U955 équipe 11, Groupe Henri Mondor, APHP, Créteil, 94010, France
                                              1. Julie Leclerc (julie.leclerc{at}chru-lille.fr)
                                              1. Pôle de Biochimie et Biologie Moléculaire, Centre de Biologie Pathologie, CHU de Lille, Lille, 59037, France
                                                1. Dominique Hubert (dominique.hubert{at}cch.aphp.fr)
                                                1. CRCM - Service de Pneumologie, Hôpital Cochin, APHP, Paris, 75679, France
                                                  1. Raphaële Nové-Josserand (raphaele.nove-josserand{at}chu-lyon.fr)
                                                  1. CRCM - Service de Médecine interne, Centre hospitalier Lyon sud, Pierre-Bénite, 69495, France
                                                    1. Isabelle Sermet-Gaudelus (isabelle.sermet{at}nck.aphp.fr)
                                                    1. CRCM - Service de Pédiatrie générale, Hôpital Necker-Enfants-Malades, APHP, Paris, 75743, France
                                                      1. Gilles Rault (gilles.rault{at}perharidy.fr)
                                                      1. CRCM - Centre de Perharidy, Roscoff, 29684, France
                                                        1. Jean Flori (jean.flori{at}sihcus.fr)
                                                        1. Service de Néonatologie, SIHCUS – CMCO, Schiltigheim, 67303, France
                                                          1. Sylvie Leroy (s-leroy{at}chru-lille.fr)
                                                          1. CRCM - Service de pneumologie et immunoallergologie, CHRU de Lille, Lille, 59037, France
                                                            1. Nathalie Wizla (n-wizla{at}chru.lille.fr)
                                                            1. CRCM - Clinique de pédiatrie, CHRU de Lille, Lille, 59037, France
                                                              1. Gabriel Bellon (gabriel.bellon{at}univ-lyon1.fr)
                                                              1. CRCM Lyon Pédiatrie, Groupement Hospitalier Lyon Est, Bron, 69677, France
                                                                1. Alain Haloun (haloun.alain{at}chu-nantes.fr)
                                                                1. CRCM - Unité de transplantation thoracique, CHU Hôpital Guillaume et René Laënnec, Nantes, 44093, France
                                                                  1. Stéphanie Pérez-Martin (stephanie.perez-martin{at}chu-dijon.fr)
                                                                  1. CRCM – Service de Pédiatrie 1, Hôpital d’Enfants, CHU Dijon, Dijon, 21079, France
                                                                    1. Gwenaelle D'Acremont (gwenaelle.dacremont{at}chicreteil.fr)
                                                                    1. CRCM - Service de Pédiatrie, CHI de Créteil, 94010, France
                                                                      1. Harriet Corvol (harriet.corvol{at}trs.aphp.fr)
                                                                      1. CRCM - Service de pneumologie pédiatrique, Hôpital d'Enfants Armand-Trousseau, APHP, Paris, 75571, France
                                                                        1. Annick Clément (annick.clement{at}trs.aphp.fr)
                                                                        1. CRCM - Service de pneumologie pédiatrique, Hôpital d'Enfants Armand-Trousseau, APHP, Paris, 75571, France
                                                                          1. Elise Houssin (eh.afdphe{at}magiconline.fr)
                                                                          1. AFDPHE, Paris, 75015, France
                                                                            1. Christine Binquet (christine.binquet{at}u-bourgogne.fr)
                                                                            1. Unité INSERM U866 CIE1, Faculté de médecine de Dijon, CHU Dijon, Dijon, 21079, France
                                                                              1. Claire Bonithon-Kopp (bonithon{at}u-bourgogne.fr)
                                                                              1. Unité INSERM U866 CIE1, Faculté de médecine de Dijon, CHU Dijon, Dijon, 21079, France
                                                                                1. Corinne Alberti-Boulme (corinne.alberti{at}rdb.ap-hop-paris.fr)
                                                                                1. Centre d’Epidémiologie Clinique, Hôpital Robert Debré, APHP, Paris, 75020, France
                                                                                  1. Michael A Morris (michael.morris{at}unige.ch)
                                                                                  1. Laboratoire de Diagnostic moléculaire, Service de Médecine Génétique, University Hospital, Geneva, Switzerland
                                                                                    1. Laurence Faivre (laurence.faivre{at}chu-dijon.fr)
                                                                                    1. Centre de Génétique, Hôpital d’Enfants, CHU de Dijon, Dijon, 21079, France
                                                                                      1. Michel Goossens (michel.goossens{at}creteil.inserm.fr)
                                                                                      1. Service de Biochimie-Génétique et Inserm U955 équipe 11, Groupe Henri Mondor, APHP, Créteil, 94010, France
                                                                                        1. Michel Roussey (michel.roussey{at}chu-rennes.fr)
                                                                                        1. CRCM - Département de médecine de l'enfant et de l'adolescent, CHU de Rennes, Rennes, 35203, France
                                                                                          1. the collaborating working group . (christelthauvin{at}hotmail.com)
                                                                                          1. Centre de Génétique, Hôpital d’Enfants, CHU de Dijon, Dijon, 21079, France
                                                                                            1. Emmanuelle Girodon (emmanuelle.girodon{at}inserm.fr)
                                                                                            1. Service de Biochimie-Génétique et Inserm U955 équipe 11, Groupe Henri Mondor, APHP, Créteil, 94010, France

                                                                                              Abstract

                                                                                              Introduction: Cystic Fibrosis (CF) is caused by compound heterozygosity or homozygosity of CF transmembrane conductance regulator gene (CFTR) mutations. Phenotypic variability associated with certain mutations makes genetic counselling difficult, notably for R117H, whose disease-phenotype varies from asymptomatic to classical CF. The high frequency of R117H observed in CF newborn screening has also introduced diagnostic dilemmas. The aim of this study was to evaluate the disease penetrance for R117H in order to improve clinical practice.

                                                                                              Methods: The phenotypes in all individuals identified in France as compound heterozygous for R117H and F508del, the most frequent CF mutation, were described. The allelic prevalences of R117H (pR117H), on either intron 8 T5 or T7 background, and F508del (pF508del) were determined in the French population, to permit an evaluation of the penetrance of CF for the [R117H]+[F508del] genotype.

                                                                                              Results: Clinical details were documented for 184 [R117H]+[F508del] individuals, including 72 newborns. The disease-phenotype was predominantly mild; one child had classical CF, and three adults’ severe pulmonary symptoms. In 5245 healthy adults, pF508del was 1.06%, pR117H;T7 0.27% and pR117H;T5 <0.01%. The theoretical number of [R117H;T7]+[F508del] individuals in the French population was estimated at 3650, whereas only 112 were known with CF-related symptoms (3.1%). The penetrance of classical CF for [R117H;T7]+[F508del] was estimated at 0.03% and that of severe CF in adulthood at 0.06%.

                                                                                              Discussion: These results suggest that R117H should be withdrawn from CF mutation panels used for screening programmes. The real impact of so-called disease mutations should be assessed before including them in newborn or preconceptional carrier screening programmes.

                                                                                              Statistics from Altmetric.com

                                                                                              Request permissions

                                                                                              If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.