Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Identification of 13 novel NLRP7 mutations in 20 families with recurrent hydatidiform mole; missense mutations cluster in the leucine rich region.
  1. Mary Wang (mary.wang{at}imperial.ac.uk)
  1. Imperial College London, United Kingdom
    1. Peter Dixon (p.dixon{at}imperial.ac.uk)
    1. Imperial College London, United Kingdom
      1. Shaun Decordova (shaun.decordova{at}icr.ac.uk)
      1. Imperial College London, United Kingdom
        1. Matt Hodges (m.d.hodges{at}imperial.ac.uk)
        1. Imperial College London, United Kingdom
          1. Neil Sebire (sebirn{at}gosh.nhs.uk)
          1. Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust, United Kingdom
            1. Sinan Ozalp (ssozalp{at}superline.com)
            1. Eskisehir Osmangazi University, Turkey
              1. Masoumeh Fallahian (m_fallahian{at}yahoo.com)
              1. Shaheed Beheshti University of Medical Sciences, Iran, Islamic Republic of
                1. Alberto Sensi (sna{at}unife.it)
                1. Universitaria di Ferrara, Italy
                  1. Fatima Ashrafi (fashrafi{at}yahoo.com)
                  1. Rockhampton Base Hospital, Australia
                    1. Vanda Repiska (vanda.repiska{at}fmed.uniba.sk)
                    1. Comenius University, Slovakia
                      1. Jun Zhao, Dr (zhjflora{at}yahoo.com.cn)
                      1. Peking Union Medical College Hospital, China
                        1. Yang Xiang (xiangy{at}pumch.cn)
                        1. Peking Union Medical College Hospital, China
                          1. Philip Savage (philip.savage{at}imperial.nhs.uk)
                          1. Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust, United Kingdom
                            1. Michael Seckl (m.seckl{at}imperial.ac.uk)
                            1. Imperial College London, United Kingdom
                              1. Rosemary Fisher (r.fisher{at}imperial.ac.uk)
                              1. Imperial College London, United Kingdom

                                Abstract

                                Background: NLRP7 (NALP7) has recently been identified as the causative gene for familial recurrent hydatidiform mole (FRHM), a rare autosomal recessive condition in which affected individuals have recurrent molar pregnancies of diploid biparental origin. To date only a small number of affected families have been descibed. Our objectives were to investigate the diversity of mutations and their localisation to one or both isoforms of NLRP7, by screening a large series of women with FRHM, and to examine the normal expression of NLRP7 in ovarian tissue.

                                Methods: Fluorescent microsatellite genotyping of molar tissue was used to establish a diagnosis of FRHM. Twenty families were subsequently screened for mutations in NLRP7 using DNA sequencing. Expression of NLRP7 in the ovary was examined by immunohistochemical staining.

                                Results: Sixteen different mutations were identified in the study, thirteen of which were novel. Missense mutations were found to be present in transcript variant 2 of NLRP7 and cluster in the leucine rich region (LRR). A male with two affected sisters and homozygous for the p.R693P mutation had normal reproductive outcomes. In normal human ovary NLRP7 expression is confined to the oocytes and present at all stages from primordial to tertiary follicles.

                                Conclusion: Thirteen novel mutations in NLRP7 were identified. We confirm that mutations in NLRP7 affect female, but not male, reproduction and provide evidence that transcript variant 2 of NLRP7 is the important isoform in this condition. The mutation clustering observed identifies the LRR region to be critical for normal functioning of NLRP7.

                                Statistics from Altmetric.com

                                Request permissions

                                If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.