Article Text

other Versions

PDF
A pilot open-label single-dose trial of fenobam in adults with fragile X syndrome
  1. Elizabeth M Berry-Kravis (elizabeth_m_berry-kravis{at}rush.edu)
  1. Departments of Pediatrics, Neurological Sciences, Biochemistry, Rush University Medical Center, United States
    1. David Hessl (david.hessl{at}ucdmc.ucdavis.edu)
    1. M.I.N.D. Institute, U.C. Davis, United States
      1. Sarah Coffey (sarah.coffey{at}ucdmc.ucdavis.edu)
      1. Department of Pediatrics and M.I.N.D. Institute, University of California Davis Medical Center, United States
        1. Crystal Hervey (crystal_hervey{at}rush.edu)
        1. Department of Pediatrics, Rush University Medical Center, United States
          1. Andrea Schneider (andrea.schneider{at}ucdmc.ucdavis.edu)
          1. Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences and M.I.N.D. Instit, University of California Davis, United States
            1. Jennifer Yuhas (jennifer.yuhas{at}yale.edu)
            1. Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, University of California Davis, United States
              1. Julie Hutchison (julie.hutchison{at}neuropharm.co.uk)
              1. Neuropharm LTD, United Kingdom
                1. Michael Snape (mike.snape{at}neuropharm.co.uk)
                1. Neuropharm LTD, United Kingdom
                  1. Michael Tranfaglia (fraxa{at}comcast.net)
                  1. FRAXA, United States
                    1. Danh V. Nguyen (ucdnguyen{at}ucdavis.edu)
                    1. Department of Public Health Sciences, University of California Davis, United States
                      1. Randi Hagerman (randi.hagerman{at}ucdmc.ucdavis.edu)
                      1. M.I.N.D. Institute and Department of Public Health Sc, University of California Davis Medical Center, United States

                        Abstract

                        Objective: A pilot open-label, single-dose trial of fenobam, an mGluR5 antagonist, was conducted to provide an initial evaluation of safety and pharmacokinetics in adult males and females with fragile X syndrome (FXS).

                        Methods: Twelve subjects, recruited from two Fragile X Clinics, received a single oral dose of 50 to 150 mg of fenobam. Blood for pharmacokinetic (PK) testing, vital signs and side effect screening was obtained at baseline and numerous time points for 6 hours after dosing. Outcome measures included prepulse inhibition (PPI) and a continuous performance test (CPT) obtained before and after dosing to explore the effects of fenobam on core phenotypic measures of sensory gating, attention and inhibition.

                        Results: There were no significant adverse reactions to fenobam administration. Pharmacokinetic analysis showed that fenobam levels were dose dependent but variable, with mean peak levels of 39.7 ± 18.4 ng/mL at 180 minutes after the 150 mg dose. PPI met a response criterion of an improvement of at least 20 percent over baseline in 6 of 12 individuals (4/6 males and 2/6 females). The CPT did not display improvement with treatment due to ceiling effects.

                        Conclusions: Clinically significant adverse effects were not identified in this study of single-dose fenobam across the range of dosages utilized. The positive effects seen in animal models of FXS treated with fenobam or other mGluR5 antagonists, the apparent lack of clinically significant adverse effects, and the potential beneficial clinical effects seen in this pilot trial support further study of the compound in adults with FXS.

                        Statistics from Altmetric.com

                        Request permissions

                        If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.