Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Six new celiac disease loci replicated in an Italian population confirm association to celiac disease.
  1. Jihane Romanos (j.romanos{at}medgen.umcg.nl)
  1. University Medical Center Groningen, Netherlands
    1. Donatella Barisani (donatella.barisani{at}unimib.it)
    1. University of Milano Bicocca, Italy
      1. Gosia Trynka (g.trynka{at}medgen.umcg.nl)
      1. University Medical Center Groningen, Netherlands
        1. Alessandra Zhernakova (a.zhernakova{at}umcutrecht.nl)
        1. University Medical Center Utrecht, Netherlands
          1. Maria Teresa Bardella (mariateresa.bardella{at}unimi.it)
          1. Centre for Prevention and Diagnosis of Celiac Disease, Italy
            1. Cisca Wijmenga (c.wijmenga{at}umcutrecht.nl)
            1. University Medical Center Groningen, Netherlands

              Abstract

              Background and Aims: The first genome-wide association study on celiac disease and its follow-up have identified eight new loci that contribute significantly towards celiac disease risk. Seven of these contain genes controlling adaptive immune responses, including IL2/IL21 (4q27), RGS1 (1q31), IL18RAP (2q11-2q12), CCR3 (3p21), IL12A (3q25-3q26), TAGAP (6q25) and SH2B3 (12q24).

              Methods: We selected the nine most associated single nucleotide polymorphisms to tag the eight new loci in an Italian cohort composed of 538 celiac disease patients and 593 healthy controls.

              Results: Common variation in IL2/IL21, RGS1, IL12A/SCHIP and SH2B3 was associated with susceptibility to celiac disease in our Italian cohort. The LPP and TAGAP regions also showed moderate association, whereas there was no association with CCR3 and IL18RAP.

              Conclusion: This is the first replication study of six of the eight new celiac disease loci; it is also the first celiac disease association study in a southern European cohort. Our results may imply there is a genuine population difference across Europe regarding the loci contributing to celiac disease.

              Statistics from Altmetric.com

              Request permissions

              If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.