Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Congenital heart disease is a feature of severe infantile spinal muscular atrophy
  1. Sabine Rudnik-Schöneborn (srudnik-schoeneborn{at}ukaachen.de)
  1. Institute of Human Genetics RWTH Aachen University, Germany
    1. Raoul Heller (raoul.heller{at}uk-koeln.de)
    1. Institute of Human Genetics University of Cologne, Germany
      1. Corinna Berg
      1. Institute of Human Genetics RWTH Aachen University, Germany
        1. Christopher Betzler
        1. Institute of Human Genetics University of Cologne, Germany
          1. Tiemo Grimm
          1. Institute of Human Genetics University of Würzburg, Germany
            1. Thomas Eggermann (teggermann{at}ukaachen.de)
            1. Institute of Human Genetics RWTH Aachen University, Germany
              1. Katja Eggermann (keggermann{at}ukaachen.de)
              1. Institute of Human Genetics RWTH Aachen University, Germany
                1. Radu Wirth (radu.wirth{at}uk-koeln.de)
                1. Institute of Human Genetics University of Cologne, Germany
                  1. Brunhilde Wirth (brunhilde.wirth{at}uk-koeln.de)
                  1. Institute of Human Genetics University of Cologne, Germany
                    1. Klaus Zerres (kzerres{at}ukaachen.de)
                    1. Institute of Human Genetics RWTH Aachen University, Germany

                      Abstract

                      Objective Homozygous deletions/mutations of the SMN1 gene cause infantile spinal muscular atrophy (SMA). The presence of at least one SMN2 gene copy is required for normal embryogenesis. Lack of SMN protein results in degeneration of motor neurons, while extraneuronal manifestations have been regarded as a chance association with SMA. We report on heart defects in the subgroup of congenital SMA type I patients.

                      Methods Data were recruited from 65 unselected SMA I patients whose diagnosis had been confirmed genetically within the first 6 months of age. SMN2 copy numbers were analyzed retrospectively and correlated with clinical findings including heart malformations.

                      Results Four (6%) patients had one copy of SMN2, 56 (86%) had two and 5 (8%) had three SMN2 copies. Three out of 4 (75%) patients with a single SMN2 copy had congenital SMA with hemodynamically relevant atrial or ventricular septal defects.

                      Discussion Previous case reports of SMA I patients with congenital heart defects did not clarify whether the cardiac malformations were coincidental. Given the respective incidences of congenitally lethal SMA with a single SMN2 copy and of cardiac septal defects in humans, a chance association of both conditions would occur in less than one out of 50 million individuals. Our findings suggest that the SMN protein is relevant for normal cardiogenesis.

                      Statistics from Altmetric.com

                      Request permissions

                      If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.