Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Epigenetic analysis of the Critical Region I for Premature Ovarian Failure (POF): demonstration of a highly heterochromatic domain on the long arm of the mammalian X chromosome
  1. Flavio Rizzolio (f.rizzolio{at}hsr.it)
  1. DIBIT-San Raffaele Scientific Institute, Milano, Italy
    1. Tiziano Pramparo (pramparo{at}unipv.it)
    1. Dept of Pathology and Medical Genetics, University of Pavia, Pavia, Italy
      1. Cinzia Sala (c.sala{at}hsr.it)
      1. DIBIT-San Raffaele Scientific Institute, Milano, Italy
        1. Orsetta Zuffardi (zuffardi{at}unipv.it)
        1. Dept of Pathology and Medical Genetics, University of Pavia, Pavia, Italy
          1. Lucia DeSantis (l.desantis{at}hsr.it)
          1. Dept of Obstetrics and Gynecology, San Raffaele Hospital, Milano, Italy
            1. Elisa Rabellotti (e.rabellotti{at}hsr.it)
            1. Dept of Obstetrics and Gynecology, San Raffaele Hospital, Milano, Italy
              1. Federico Calzi (f.calzi{at}hsr.it)
              1. Dept of Obstetrics and Gynecology, San Raffaele Hospital, Milano, Italy
                1. Francesco Fusi (f.fusi{at}hsr.it)
                1. Dept of Obstetrics and Gynecology, San Raffaele Hospital, Milano, Italy
                  1. Riccardo Bellazzi (bellazzi{at}unipv.it)
                  1. Dept of Computrer Engineering and System Science, University of Pavia, Pavia, Italy
                    1. Daniela Toniolo (daniela.toniolo{at}hsr.it)
                    1. DIBIT-San Raffaele Scientific Institute, Milano, Italy

                      Abstract

                      X chromosome rearrangements defined a critical region for premature ovarian failure (POF) that extended for >15 Mb in Xq. We have previously shown that the region could be divided into two functionally distinct portions and suggested that balanced translocations interrupting its proximal part, critical region 1 (CR1), could be responsible for POF through down regulation of ovary expressed autosomal genes translocated to the X chromosome. We report now that such position effect can indeed be demonstrated by analysis of breakpoint regions in somatic cells of POF patients and by the finding that the CR1 has a highly heterochromatic organization, very different from that of the euchromatic autosomal regions involved in the rearrangements. The chromatin organization of the POF CR1 is likely to be responsible of the epigenetic modifications observed in POF patients. The characteristics of the CR1 and its down regulation in oocytes very well explain its role in POF and the frequency of the POF phenotype in chromosomal rearrangements involving Xq. We also demonstrate a large and evolutionary conserved domain of the long arm of the X chromosome, largely corresponding to the CR1, that may have structural or functional roles, in oocyte maturation or in X chromosome inactivation.

                      Statistics from Altmetric.com

                      • Web only appendices 46;9:585

                        Request permissions

                        If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.