Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Association of arginase 1 gene polymorphisms with the risk of myocardial infarction and common carotid intima-media thickness
  1. Julie Dumont (julie.dumont{at}pasteur-lille.fr)
  1. Inserm U744, Institut Pasteur de Lille, Université de Lille 2, France
    1. Mahmoud Zureik (mahmoud.zureik{at}pasteur-lille.fr)
    1. Inserm U744, Institut Pasteur de Lille, Université de Lille 2, France
      1. Dominique Cottel (dominique.cottel{at}pasteur-lille.fr)
      1. Inserm U744, Institut Pasteur de Lille, Université de Lille 2, France
        1. Michele Montaye (michele.montaye{at}pasteur-lille.fr)
        1. Inserm U744, Institut Pasteur de Lille, Université de Lille 2, France
          1. Pierre Ducimetière (pierre.ducimetiere{at}vjf.inserm.fr)
          1. Inserm U258, Hopital Paul Brousse, France
            1. Philippe Amouyel (philippe.amouyel{at}pasteur-lille.fr)
            1. Inserm U744, Institut Pasteur de Lille, Université de Lille 2, France
              1. Thierry Brousseau (thierry.brousseau{at}pasteur-lille.fr)
              1. Inserm U744, Institut Pasteur de Lille, Université de Lille 2, France

                Abstract

                Objective: Recently, arginase 1 (ARG1) was suggested to play an important role in atherogenesis. However, due to its complex functions depending on vascular cell types, its impact on atherogenesis remains unclear. Our aim was to evaluate the association between ARG1 polymorphisms and phenotypes related to atherosclerosis.

                Methods: Among ten ARG1 polymorphisms selected from databases, four SNPs (rs2781666; rs2781667; rs2781668; rs17599586) were tested for association with myocardial infarction (MI) in a case-control study (350 cases vs 581 controls), and with common carotid intima-media thickness in an independent sample of 963 subjects (EVA study).

                Results: The genotype distribution of the rs2781666 G/T polymorphism significantly differed between MI cases and controls (p=0.005) and the risk of MI was consistently increased for both GT heterozygotes (OR [95%CI]=1.5 [1.1-2.0]) and TT homozygotes (OR [95%CI]=2.2 [1.1-4.4]). In the EVA study, the rs2781666 polymorphism was also associated with an increase in common carotid intima-media thickness (p=0.0097), a surrogate marker of MI.

                Conclusions: The ARG1 rs2781666 polymorphism was consistently associated with MI and an increased common carotid intima-media thickness. Our findings reinforce the hypothesis of a significant role of ARG1 in vascular pathophysiology.

                • Arginase 1
                • common carotid intima-media thickness
                • gene
                • myocardial infarction
                • polymorphism

                Statistics from Altmetric.com

                Request permissions

                If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.