Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Guidelines for the diagnosis and management of individuals with Neurofibromatosis 1 (NF1)
  1. Rosalie E Ferner (rosalie.ferner{at}kcl.ac.uk)
  1. Guy's Hospital, United Kingdom
    1. Susan M Huson (smhuson{at}aol.com)
    1. St. Mary's Hospital Manchester, United Kingdom
      1. Nick Thomas (nick.thomas{at}kingsch.nhs.uk)
      1. King's College Hospital, United Kingdom
        1. Celia Moss (celia.moss{at}bch.nhs.uk)
        1. Birmingham Childrens' Hospital, United Kingdom
          1. Harry Willshaw (harry.willshaw{at}bch.nhs.uk)
          1. Birmingham Childrens' Hospital, United Kingdom
            1. D Gareth Evans (gareth.evans{at}cmmc.nhs.uk)
            1. St. Mary's Hospital Manchester, United Kingdom
              1. Meena Upadhyaya (upadhyaya{at}cardiff.ac.uk)
              1. University of Wales College of Medicine, United Kingdom
                1. Richard Towers (richard.towers{at}rmh.nhs.uk)
                1. Royal Marsden Hospital, United Kingdom
                  1. Michael Gleeson (michael.gleeson{at}kcl.ac.uk)
                  1. Guy's Hospital, United Kingdom
                    1. Christine Steiger (christine.steiger{at}rlc.nhs.uk)
                    1. Alder Hey Children’s Hospital, United Kingdom
                      1. Amanda Kirby (amanda.kirby{at}btinternet.com)
                      1. Dyscovery Centre, Newport, United Kingdom

                        Abstract

                        Neurofibromatosis 1 is a common neurocutaneous condition with an autosomal dominant pattern of inheritance. The complications are diverse and disease expression varies, even within families. Progress in molecular biology and neuroimaging and the development of mouse models have helped to elucidate the aetiology of NF1 and its’ clinical manifestations. Furthermore, these advances have raised the prospect of therapeutic intervention for this complex and distressing disease. Members of The United Kingdom Neurofibromatosis Clinical Advisory Board collaborated to produce a consensus statement on the current guidelines for diagnosis and management of NF1. The proposals are based on published clinical studies and on the pooled knowledge of experts in neurofibromatosis with experience of providing multidisciplinary clinical and molecular services for NF1 patients. The consensus statement discusses the diagnostic criteria, major differential diagnoses, clinical manifestations and the present strategies for monitoring and management of NF1 complications.

                        • GIST
                        • glioma
                        • malignant peripheral nerve sheath tumour
                        • plexiform neurofibroma
                        • scoliosis

                        Statistics from Altmetric.com

                        Request permissions

                        If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.